When I first arrived in Yamagata City, it was slightly before nine.  In Japan, most shops and museums and so on open at ten a.m.  So I headed to the Kajo building which adjoins the train station because its observation area is open quite early.

img_2747

That sign says, “Kajo Central.”  It’s the tallest building in Yamagata Prefecture.  It has twenty-four floors, I believe.  I think it has a lot of offices inside.  It also has the main tourist information area for Yamagata Prefecture.

img_2748

This says, “Kousoukai Erebeetaa.”

Kousou 高層 means high altitude.

In this case, the meaning is the elevator for the high level floor, i.e. observation area.

img_2749

Here we are!  Yamagata City…….  That’s Kajo Park, where I will go later.

img_2750

Lots of mountains in the distance…

img_2752

img_2753

The observation area is free and comfortable.  They also have a couple of restaurants where you can eat with a view.

img_2754

Beautiful sky!

img_2755

I enjoyed the observation area.  A nice thing to do before places in the city open up for business.