img_2727

Today’s book is (I believe) possibly a German book translated to Japanese.  The book jacket gives the original title as “Die Wichtelmanner.”

In Japanese, it is “Kobito to Kutsuya.”

Kobito=Elf

Kutsu=Shoe

Ya usually denotes a store, but my dictionary says Kutsuya can mean either “Shoe Store” or “Shoemaker.”

img_2728

Love the cute little tushies!!!!!

img_2717

When I was at Fukushima University’s library on Sunday, I saw it there among the foreign picture books.

img_2718

A little sad they didn’t have the original German.  One thing that it is very obvious is that English is THE foreign language in Japan.  (Much like Spanish is the foreign language of America, in terms of representation among books–only more so.)  I feel immense English privilege….very lucky for me, but sadly unfortunate for those whose native language is not English.