This post is being written after 8:30 at night and my mental facilities shut down at seven, so all that’s left in my brain right now is a crotchety little janitor sweeping up the day’s thoughts.   His name is Bob.   So this post may not make a lot of sense seeing as I am a morning person, not a night person.

Okay.  My son likes gamers on youtube…….  A lot of them are real Japanophiles.   They like Japan.  I am not sure why.  I think it has something to do with Nintendo and Pokemon?

Anyway…. these American gamers on youtube were using the term “Level Up.”  So I inform my son, “That’s not really English.”  He’s like “Yes, it is.”  (If PBG uses it, it must be really English.)

So I explain to him, “The actual expression is ‘reach the next level.’  But Japanese video gamers transformed this English into ‘Level Up.’  And so then American gamers have obviously taken this back from Japanese and are using it as a verb.  To level up.  Are you listening to me? Are you listening to your mom?  I am telling you something important here.”

He was mesmerized by my knowledge, like always.  And oh look, it’s 8:54……six minutes until my bedtime.  Good night, Bob.