I was really procrastinating on my book reading.  I realized that the reason was because the next book on the list was “Sylvester’s Magic Pebble,” a book I have read more than once in English and have NO desire to read again.   So I gave myself permission to skip this book and move on to the next one.  I felt relieved immediately.

The next book is a book that is originally Japanese and is called “Sanmai no Ofuda.”  I was thinking that this translated into……I wasn’t quite sure…..”Three Pieces of Paper”  ????  But that didn’t sound good.  Luckily, I was rescued when I looked closely at the book and saw it translated as “The Three Magic Amulets.”  I have also seen it online as “The Three Magic Talismans.”

img_2419

San=Three

Mai=Counter for paper items

Fuda=Some sort of paper used in Buddhism?  I don’t know much about Buddhism so I don’t really know well.  Obviously not regular paper.  Religious paper.

img_2420

This is a folk tale.  A young novice monk goes out too far while travelling and must stay at an old woman’s house.  She is in reality a monster and wants to eat him.  (Shown in above photo.)  So he tricks her by saying he has to go to the bathroom, at which point he uses the “fuda” (papers) to escape.

Being a folk tale, it is in public domain and there are many  versions, naturally.  You can see one version here:  http://dwellingindreams.blogspot.jp/2008/04/three-magic-charms.html  (Scroll past the Japanese to read it in English.)  It’s a slightly different version than in the book.