In Japan, everybody loves the 100 yen shops (Japanese versions of the dollar store.)  I don’t remember them back in 1995…I don’t know if they didn’t exist yet, or if I was just new to Japan and didn’t know about them.

America has its own dollar stores, of course.

IMG_1749

We went to this dollar store during our time in America.  It’s not as good as a Japanese one, I don’t think, but still pretty good.

IMG_1750

Looking around……..

IMG_1751

I stopped at this candy area.  By golly, these are all candies that I remember from my youth.  When I was a kid, we would walk to a convenience store and buy a package of candy for about 30 cents.  Then the price went up to 35 cents.  Now it’s a dollar.  Getting higher all the time.

IMG_1752

I remember this gum!!!!!!

IMG_1753

I remember this fish!!!!!

IMG_1754

I actually don’t remember this candy, but my cousin loves it.

IMG_1755

Movie candy!!!!!!!

IMG_1756

Okay, the thing about this candy is that it’s all really low quality…..

IMG_1758

Especially this!!!!!! I remember Necco Wafers from when I was a kid…Yes, I ate them and I remember liking them.  So I bought some and brought them back for my English students.  They were SO BAD.  I really wish I hadn’t bought them.  They are just so bad.  It’s embarrassing…”Hey, Kids, here is some American candy!!! Isn’t it horrible!!!”

IMG_1759

Smarties are actually pretty good.  They have the same thing in Japan, called Ramune.

IMG_1760

Sugar Babies…kind of gross!  I liked them when I was a kid thogh.

IMG_1761

Remember Fiddle Faddle?

IMG_1762

My haul…..  I thought the calendars were such a good deal.  They’re American, and so if I buy a calendar at the Japanese dollar store, it will only show Japanese holidays.  So this is a good deal for me.