img_1984

In America, my husband was fascinated by the supermarket in Walmart.  Well, my dad said, “If you like that so much, let’s go to Central Market!”

img_1985

Central Market is an upscale food store.  It’s actually a subsidiary of the HEB grocery store chain (a regular supermarket–not upscale.)  There are only nine Central Markets in the world…and I think all of them are probably in wealthy neighborhoods.   This is NOT my parents’ regular supermarket!  They are not foodies.

img_1987

Ooooooh, looky!!!!  Japanese radish!!!!

img_1988

Lots of really interesting vegetables and so on.   My husband said to my dad, “I could spend three hours here.”  To which my dad was probably thinking “Oh no…”  But actually said, “I’ll go in the coffee shop and wait.”

img_1990

Asian pears!!!!!!  I have a couple of those in my kitchen right now

img_1991

Lots of tea…I brought back some for my Japanese teachers.

img_1992

See all the varieties?

img_1993

My husband is on a chia seed thing.  I think everybody is?????

img_1994

My husband and I wanted all the pickles.  American pickles are delicious.

img_1996

I wanted the salsa!!!!!!!

img_1997

Dried squid!  My husband’s father always feeds this to the cat, and my husband tells him not to do that because it is bad for the cat.

img_1998

I bought these for my husband’s parents.  I have no idea if it tastes good.  It is kind of hard to get regional “omiyage” in America…it’s not like Japan where every single town and region has their own specialty.

img_1999

Wasabi?????? Wasabi!!!!!!!

img_2001

The best way to eat soba noodles is with spaghetti sauce. (joke)

img_2002

I hated soba when I first came to Japan.  I found it very bland.  All and I mean ALL Japanese love it.  It’s like their macaroni and cheese.   A comfort food.

img_2003

Miso

img_2005

More Texas chocolatey stuff…You can tell these photos are not in any particular order.

img_2007

I can buy taco shells here in Fukushima City at our international store.  But I can’t get BLUE taco shells!!!  Lucky Americans.

img_2008

Huge Hagen Dazs….I have never seen such a big thing of Hagen Dazs in Japan.   I should have put my hand next to it for scale.  It’s really big.

img_2009

Cheese…This cheese section went on and on and on….

img_2010

And on and on and on….

img_2011

I don’t even know what this is a photo of.

img_2013

Pastries!!!!

img_2014

Cakey cakes!!!!!

img_2015

Sushi!!!!!!!!!!!  (Yes, I take a photo of the sushi in every store we step in.)

img_2017

Yep, three cheers for living high off the hog in Texas!!!!!!