img_2045

So anyway, we were in Lawrence, Kansas for a couple of days.  That’s the college town of the University of Kansas.

img_2052

Lawrence is the sister city of Hiratsuka, Japan.

img_2053

That’s why this Japanese style garden was created.

img_2055

Very small, a little unkempt, but considering this is Kansas, kind of cool.

img_2057

Downtown Lawrence was just so sleepy and quiet.  Just like I remember it.

img_2059

Not a lot here, but kind of cute.

img_2060

I am simply amazed that this video store is still in business. Amazed.  Wow, it must have great management.

I used it a lot when I was in school because it carried a lot of non-run of the mill movies.  (Foreign, independent, classics, etc.)  Not a Blockbuster type place at all.   Interesting story:  My husband and I were dating, so I rented a Japanese movie from this store.  My husband was negative about watching it, and then when we watched it…..it was NOT my style at all!   Just very, very weird and violent.  I think a live bug got stabbed with a pen or something and killed????  I think it was called Iron Man “Tetsu Something”

img_2062

This coffee shop was around when I was in school, too, and exactly the same!!!!!!

img_2066

Book t-shirts.  So cute.  Me want.

 

img_2070

Such memories!!!!  So strange to be back, but no longer young and carefree.  My husband kept pointing out the Asian restaurants which have sprung up in abundance.  (I guess “Asia” is pretty cool now in the U.S.)  When he was here in the nineties, he had to drive to Kansas City for a Japanese restaurant.  They didn’t even have sushi back then at all in places like Lawrence, or in grocery stores.  My first sushi was actually on a trip to California in 1993 and I wanted to try it because I had never ever seen it or eaten it, just heard of it.