IMG_1562

Our second day in America was spent with a lot of sleeping.  I always get jet lag pretty bad for a couple of days or so, and then I’m adjusted.  Often, I feel the jet lag is worse than the flight itself.  Actually, I can’t decide because the flight is always very uncomfortable, too.  They are both bad.

We hit an American grocery store with my parents that evening.  You’d think I would be selecting low cal vegetables and yogurt for my stay in America, but I always forget to actually go shopping.  I am just sort of mesmerized by all the American munchies.  And stuff.

Like the JIF Chocolate Cheesecake Hazelnut.  It probably tastes horrible, but I had to have it.  I mean, Japan will never in a million years carry Chocolate Cheesecake Hazelnut spread.  Into the cart it goes.

IMG_1563

Green Oreos! Wait?  Is it St. Patrick’s Day?  What’s the occasion?  Did America get the memo (from Japan) that chocolate and mint are delish?  (In early summer, Japan was going crazy with chocolate and mint yummies.)   Into the cart it goes.

IMG_1566

Magazines……Bought a “People.”  And a “Star.”  My mom used to subscribe to People but I think she got tired of too much Kaitlyn.

IMG_1567

In the check-out lane, my son said, “Why are the Cheetos and a cookie there?”  I said, “Because this is America.  And Americans are not always so tidy….”  You probably are aware that Japanese people are pretty clean and good about keeping things nice.   Americans….less so.  Every country in the entire world, in fact, less so.