Well, it’s summertime and recently I needed to go shopping for more sunblock for my face.

IMG_1237

This is what I had been using.  When I bought it, I didn’t notice that it is tinted beige. I didn’t really like that, but it basically served its purpose.

Most sunblock has enough English on it that you can figure it out quite easily.  However, here is some kanji you may want to know when sunblock shopping.

 

IMG_1234

The big kanji here is:  Kao You  (“For the face.”)

Kao 顔 means “face.”

You よう in this situation, it means, “Used for”

IMG_1235

The bottom kanji says mukouryou  (“No perfume”)

mu 無 means  “No” or “Not”

kouryou 香料 means “perfume”

IMG_1236

In white, it says hada ni yasashii  (“Gentle on the skin”)

hada 肌means ”skin”

yasashii やさしいmeans “gentle”  “easy”

IMG_1238

Bihaku 美白 means “makes the face white.”

 

IMG_1232

As you can see here, the word “Whitening” is in English so there is no confusion.

Whitening products are very popular in Japan, but I don’t use them. First, I have heard they are not so good for your skin. Second, my skin is already white enough.

 

IMG_1233

This is what I ended up getting, the one in the middle.  I like Curel, I don’t know why.  So I decided to try their sunblock for the face.

 


By the way, for those of you studying Japanese, there is a nifty Facebook page (actually two of them) called “Japanese Word of the Day.”  So neat.

https://www.facebook.com/japanesewordofthedaybeginners/

https://www.facebook.com/Japanese-Word-of-the-Day-N3-178922272497721/