IMG_1214

I was browsing at a local bookstore and found this.  It is a set of posters that are in English.  The box says thirty posters.  Actually, it is fifteen, with a poster on each side.  Plenty of posters though, for only 1200 yen.  I am glad I bought it.  Not so much for my son, especially, (although I have one hanging up as I type this) but more for my English students.

IMG_1215

The paper is rather low quality, but I didn’t expect more for the rather low price of 1200 yen.  They are smallish, and again that is fine. LOTS of variety of words, which I really like.

The biggest thing I don’t like is that the English has the katakana version above each word. I normally NEVER buy anything with that katakana English.  (Katakana guides a Japanese person in pronouncing the English word. The problem is that if it exists, most Japanese people will just read the katakana and won’t trouble themselves with reading the English word itself.)

I went through the first poster and whited out every bit of  katakana English before hanging up the poster.  Like I said, I hate that katakana English.  Just hate it.  I know why Japanese people use it.  I understand it is hard for them to read English.  Nevertheless, I hate it.

IMG_1216

More of the different posters.  Thirty different ones in all…some more useful than others, but I like all of them.  This was a good buy!


I hung up a poster on the wall and already my son has been asking me questions about it.  :-)  He wasn’t happy I whited out the katakana…not sure why.  He doesn’t need the katakana to read it….it’s probably just that the poster doesn’t look quite as nice with the white out.

Where did I hang it?  Well, the blog Bilingual Monkeys suggests hanging posters (and anything you want your child to read) in the bathroom. He calls this captive reading.   So my little monkey was indeed captivated by the poster.

Japanese people like to hang things in the bathroom above the tub, based on the number of posters they sell expressly for this purpose.

I like educational placemats,which are hard to find here in Japan.  However, my son wants to be a little grown-up man and refuses the placemats.  He wants newspaper like his dad.  (Which serves as a double purpose of both news and placemat for my husband.)  So I lay out the Japanese newspapers for my son.   Unfortunately, we don’t subscribe to an English newspaper.  (Sorry, Japan Times!  I read that newspaper at our library.)

Where else can we sneak English?  On the backs of t-shirts!  But I hate it when my son sits behind the girl whose shirt reads  I like my birthday I love my parents and I do drugs