IMG_1158

There was an exhibit of paintings of movie posters at our local shopping center.  The artist himself was there, and my husband says he is quite well-known in Japan.

IMG_1159

I think Japanese men of a certain generation (elderly men) enjoy American westerns.

IMG_1160

Audrey Hepburn is arguably Japan’s favorite western movie actress.

IMG_1161

They love her movies, like this one–Roman Holiday.

IMG_1162

I don’t know exactly why Japanese people love Audrey so much, but I think it has something to do with her dark-haired beauty and gamine figure.  It’s something Japanese women can aspire to.

IMG_1163

Marilyn Monroe is not nearly as popular here, and I’m guessing for the same reason.  Japanese women won’t ever look like Marilyn, and don’t bother trying.

IMG_1164

Japanese movie stars of old.