IMG_1174

This book is called “Ke-ki ni Naare!”  I think a more accurate translation is “Turn it into a cake!”  But I am going to use “Let’s make a cake!”

Ke-ki is an English loanword and means “cake.”  You hear it a lot in Japan.  Japan has wonderful cake shops with delicate and frothy creations.  You won’t see huge low quality supermarket cakes with blue icing here in Japan.    Cake does tend to be expensive, though, so it is an occasional treat, especially on birthdays and Christmas.

IMG_1175

In this book, one page shows a fruit.  The next page shows a cake made from it.  (Or pie.)  Despite appearing western with all its cakes, it actually seems to me to be a very culturally Japanese book.

It can be found here.


IMG_1120

Here are photos of my recent birthday cake, which my husband chose and bought.  We absolutely never purchase cake unless it is a birthday.

IMG_1121

The top.  It’s a really small cake, but then we have only three people in our family.  Japanese people tend to favor quality over quantity.   Plus, families are often small here, so you don’t need huge cakes which feed nine people that often.

IMG_1122

Notice the edible gold flake.   The tv show The Big Bang Theory sometimes gets its jokes from Japanese culture.  (Annoyingly, they don’t acknowledge their debt to Japanese culture, though.)  I know they have made jokes about edible gold before.

Before I came to Japan, I had never seen edible gold.

IMG_1123

Bon Appetit!