IMG_0804

While I was at the Sendai library, I discovered an oldie but a goodie. This is a magazine that I used to study in the 1990’s when I was first in Japan.  It has since gone out of business and now seems to have reappeared.  (But it’s pretty hard to find now.)

I know I have mentioned this before, but twenty years ago it was harder for me to find materials to study from.  I was at a lower level, so I could not pick up a regular book here, even a kids’ book.  This magazine is geared toward foreigners who studied Japanese, and was helpful.

Since then, the materials for foreigners learning Japanese have gotten better. But books and other materials seem to appear and disappear.  Like a book might be out for a few short years, then be out of print.

And then of course, there is online studying–which opens a whole new world.  For me, online studying is a perk, but not a necessity.  Japan is the easiest place to acquire Japanese learning materials.  Even our bookstore here in Fukushima City has WAY better materials for learning Japanese than my parents’ Barnes and Noble in America.  (The Barnes and Noble has beginning materials.  Nothing for a person beyond that very basic level.)  However, online studying is a wonderful thing for people living outside of Japan.  I don’t think westerners (apart from Australians and New Zealanders) study Japanese much, but people who are citizens of the various Asian countries are very much into learning Japanese.   (Lots and lots and lots of Chinese people study Japanese, especially.)

Currently I am studying for N2 and I am mostly doing the N2 Kanzen Master Reading Comprehension textbook (which is very difficult for me) and the N2 Kanzen Master Listening Comprehension textbook (which is very easy for me.)  Plus, I do other random materials: Jpod, nihongomomori, elementary and junior high newspapers, etc.