IMG_0787

When I went to Sendai City, the one place I wanted to visit was the Mediatheque Building.  I had heard that it is a modern building which is home to a library.  I told my husband and he said, “Why go there?  It’s just a library.”

What darling doesn’t know is that library tourism is a booming hobby among G.E.A.K.S  (Girls’ Epic Adventure Kliffhangers Society) and I am a card carrying member.

IMG_0791

Here we are!  Excited!

IMG_0792

Hmmmm……It feels like I have stepped into the future.

IMG_0799

I got permission to take photos.

IMG_0793

The main library on the second floor.  I wasn’t sure what this library was affiliated with, but was told that it was a city library.

IMG_0794

My section

IMG_0795

Lots and lots of books!  Mostly in English

IMG_0796

Some Japanese learning books

IMG_0811

Books in Russian   (Not a lot of languages other than English, but certainly more than most libraries in Japan.)

IMG_0812

Korean

IMG_0798

A section of 3/11 book (the date of the big Tohoku earthquake)

The Fukushima University was better stocked though, when it comes to 3/11 material.  But this is not a university library, so I guess one can’t compare.

 

IMG_0803

The kids’ section.

 

IMG_0800

Not really as many English books as I expected…perhaps (like the Fukushima City library) they are in storage?

IMG_0801

Korean kids’ books

IMG_0802

French

Yeah, I had fun!  I really enjoyed it!  Ohmigosh, Cookie Monster is on TV in an Apple commercial……..

 

I get easily distracted.