Do you know what “Rusk” is?  When I first came to Japan, my husband gave me some. He said, “Rusk.  You know, rusk.  It’s famous.”  I had never heard of it before, and never particularly seen anything like it (at least in the Japanese form.)

IMG_0671

These are two different “Rusk”  On the left, leftover bits of pastry from the cream puff shop.  Super yum!

On the right, some Yamagata rusk.

IMG_0716

Here is some Hokkaido rusk.  Rusk doesn’t have to be as fancy as this, though.  There is cheap rusk and expensive rusk in Japan.

IMG_0718

This is the Hokkaido rusk.  Basically it’s dried flavored bread.  Usually it’s sweet, but not always.  I think in America “biscotte” are similar to rusk, though not exactly.  And garlic chips are rusk, too.

This link gives an explanation:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rusk