IMG_0480

The name of this book is “Totokekko Yo ga Aketa.”

The real word for Cock a Doodle Doo is “kokoriko.”  However, I am assuming that surely Totokekko must surely be another way of saying “Cock a Doodle Doo.” (But I am not 100% sure.)

“Yo ga Aketa” means Dawn has Broken.  It’s now dawn.  The sun is rising, that sort of meaning.  It’s a very useful expression to know because it comes up frequently on JLPT tests.

Yo is night. Akeru is open.  So the literal meaning of “Yo ga Aketa” is “Night opened.”  (to day, presumably.)

IMG_0481

I like the bright colors in this book.  So happy!

When I checked out this book, I was told by the librarian that this is a “Warabe Uta”.  Warabe means Child.  Uta means Song.

So a child’s song.

I checked youtube for this particular song, and there really wasn’t much.  But you can listen to it.  The sound quality is not great.

The book is here.