IMG_0475

Today’s book is called, “Ohiza De Dakko”  I will translate that as “Sitting on Your Lap”

It’s not an exact translation.

The verb “daku” (from the word “Dakko”) is a verb that pretty much all foreign moms in Japan learn  quickly.  It means both hold and hug, like embrace.  Like putting your arms around your child.

I had only learned this word from conversation, so I looked it up in the dictionary.   I found it interesting that the verb “daku” is also used for a nesting bird that is sitting on her eggs. So there is a motherly connotation to it, I suppose.  But it can be used with fathers, too, of course, and this book has panda mothers and elephant fathers, and so on.

IMG_0476

All the animal parents call their little ones to their laps and hold them in various ways.  A sweet book.  I quite liked it.

It can be found here.