I finished my book battle with the books for six years olds.  So now I am going to take it easy.  I am starting at the very beginning:  Fukushima City Library’s book list for babies age zero and up.  The gah gah goo goo list.

Oh yeah.  And it’s easy.

Like I could just flip through the books at the library and say, “I’m done!”

Nevertheless the purpose of this Babu Babu Baby Book Battle is to familiarize myself with books that little ones in Japan enjoy.

So, without any further ado, I give your our first book.

 

IMG_0397

“Kudamono”  Fruits.

It is by Hirayama Kazuko.

IMG_0398

Every page is the same pattern:  a fruit, and the words:  “Here you are.”  (Saa douzo.)

The fruits are all common in Japan.  I am showing the page with the mandarin orange.  That’s the normal orange in Japan.   Notice how it is peeled in the illustration.  That’s the way everybody peels their mandarin oranges in Japan, and if you don’t do it that way, you will be mocked. Learn that now, kiddo.  Okay?

Here are the fruits in the book:

watermelon

peach

grapes

Japanese pear

apple

chestnut  (Is this a fruit?)

persimmon

mandarin orange

strawberries

bananas.

The artwork is realistic, a little boring, but I’m sure if I was a baby and had never seen a banana before, I would love it.

This book is here.

<br />

Creative Kids Culture Blog Hop

<p>