Well, I’ve finally been beaten by a book in the Japanese Picture Book Battle.  Little Bear Oof did me in.

 

IMG_0265

“Kuma no Ko Uufu”

Little Bear Oof is tougher than he looks.

IMG_0266

This was the first chapter book on the list, so there were lots of pages and lots of text.  It would be an easy read for me in English (of course), but not in Japanese.  When I saw this book at the library, I sighed loudly and deeply, thinking:  “I have to read ALL THIS!?”

Not a good start.

Okay.  So I started.  And guess what.  It is about a little bear and his mommy who loves him.

I can deal with that.  It’s a book for six years olds.   (The only problem is I am not a six year old.)

So then I get to the second chapter and there’s this chicken who gives Little Bear Oof her egg so he can eat it.

What??!!

She’s giving him HER BABY????

Actually, that’s not what did me in.  I mean, what do I care if he is eating her baby.

But this book was just boring.  That’s what did me in.

Boring and short, maybe I can handle it.

But boring and long?  No.

So on to the next book!

The amazon link is here.


Update:

According to the newspaper, the illustrator of the “Little Bear Oof” passed away on on February 3, 2016.  His name is Inoue Yousuke, and he died at the age of eighty-four.

At the library, they had a little exhibit in honor of him:

IMG_0307