Hello, everybody!  We were in Sakata City in western Yamagata Prefecture visiting inlaws during our vacation.  There was no internet, so we did it the old-fashioned way.  Books!  I read “At Home in Japan” by Rebecca Otowa and loved it.  What a wonderful book.  She has a lot more perseverance than I do!

IMG_0015

You know what that table is if you live in Japan, but for those of you out of Japan, it’s a kotatsu.  There’s a heater inside it to keep our feetsies warm.   The cat loves it.

IMG_0054

Sakata is famous for good food, and for its sea.  And it is especially famous for its seafood!   We had crab.  Quite expensive, but Baba was saving it for us.

IMG_0056

On the left is a gruel/soup made from the crab broth.  Really a nice taste.  On the right, that was what was left over in the pot that had seasoned the crab meat and broth.

 

IMG_0060

It was rather snowy when we first arrived.

IMG_0061

Walking to the convenience store to get my internet fix.  Yes, I’m addicted.  Or else maybe I just get sick of Japanese TV, which is dumb on a mega scale.

IMG_0062

I walked up a drive to take a photo of this.  Normally there is a walking path that I take to the convenience store.

IMG_0068

Japanese people believe that you should eat noodles on the last day of the year for long life.  It’s called Toshi Koshi Soba.   When I first came to Japan, I hated soba and found it extremely bland.  (I think most Americans would think so.)  It’s eaten with just a light sauce.  Now I like it and find it rather refreshing, definitely not a heavy food.

 

I will post more about our new year tomorrow!