We had our 2015 Christmas party for my Friday Japanese class yesterday.  We all brought a dish. I wanted to bring something very American, and heck, if it is easy, I’m good with that, too!

So….I thought….and thought……and decided upon the quintessential American comfort snack food—-Rice Krispie Treats!

The only only problem is that they don’t sell plain Rice Krispies (even fakes) near me at all.

So I decided to go with Cocoa Krispie Treats.

DSCF6476

Here are the Cocoa Krispie Treats.

 

DSCF6478

Here are the marshmallows.  (And also butter, but I didn’t take a photo of the butter.)

DSCF6480

I wanted to fancy them up a bit.  Red hots?  Nope, not in Japan.

M&M’s?  They got their own little version of Japanese M&M’s….but I wanted to be AUTHENTIC so I headed for our local international store for real M&M’s…..which turned out to be a mistake.   You’ll find out why later.

DSCF6479

Meanwhile, I discover that Japan has THEIR OWN LITTLE VERSION OF RICE KRISPIE TREATS.  Think of a milder, less sticky, less sweet Rice Krispie Treats. That’s Okoshi.


DSCF6547

These were the treats I made.  Okay, now the M&M fiasco.  I went to the international store and I wanted some nice minty M&M’s.  But they didn’t have any.  So I saw the red and green M&M’s and thought, “Those look festive!”  Well…….they were apple caramel M&M’s.

It turns out that apple caramel M&M’s don’t taste so great in Cocoa Krispie Treats.  This is why I never will become an Iron Chef.

Okay, I think the M&M-less treats on the left were tasty, but honestly, Japanese people don’t really go for that sticky, sweet flavor that reminds us Americans of childhood.  Oh well!  It was educational, in more ways than one.