The “Tirolle” Chocolate Company does some extremely cute things with chocolate.  So I was pleased to see the following at my local supermarket.

 

DSCF6475

If you are like me, you are clueless as to what it represents.  This took some detective work for me.    I asked the cashier if she knew what was on the box, and she said, “Oh, yes!!!!!  It’s very famous.”  I asked her how to pronounce it and she said, “Fukushin.”  (I thought.  You will find out in a second that I misheard her.)

So I go home and google “Fukushin”.  I get restaurants and such, but nothing resembling the box.  I google “Tiro Fukushin” and nothing.  (I assume correctly that the チロ”Tiro” in the title refers to the company’s name:  Tirolle.)

Anyway, I need help.  BIG help.

Honey, darling, husband?   He’s the man I go to when I am flummoxed.

So he tells me it says, “Fukujin.”  FUKUJIN!!!!!!!!!!!!   Agh.  (This is why Japanese is so hard.)  And the actual title is Shichi Fukujin.

So I google it and find they are the Seven Lucky Gods.

Oh.

 

DSCF6494

So I bought a box for my Japanese class and set it up.  I was pretty excited.  I think I was the only one who was excited!  LOL  There was more chocolate in the box than I expected.

 

 

Okay, this gets even weirder.  I was at the local post office the same week…and I SAW THE SEVEN LUCKY GODS!!!!!!!!  Imagine that.  They are following me around.   It’s like, I spend twenty years in Japan not even noticing them, then BAM.  There they are.

DSCF6506

This is a post office catalogue for “Lucky Bags.”  (Fuku Bukuro)

Pay attention next time you see these cute little guys!   They are the SEVEN LUCKY GODS!!!!!!!!!!!!


For those of you in a multilingual situation, I wanted to direct your attention to this great list by Trilingual Mama.  It is a list of families doing the “Language Thing”.  I found my own name on it.  I’m famous.   http://www.trilingualmama.com/multilingual-family-blogs/

And for the curious among you–Yes!  My American mom had the power to see into the future and knew that I would someday live in Japan which is why she gave me a Japanese name.  (Although she claims she got the name from a soap opera.  Yeah, right, MOM.)