DSCF6073

I won’t need this where I am going.

I’m on my bike.  And I’m looking for a pickle shop.

I heard pickles were low calorie and delicious.  Let’s find out if it is true.

DSCF6076

Pickles….Pickles….Bakery.

DSCF6074

The oldest bakery in Fukushima City.   Baba told me that long ago (like when she was young) people just did not eat bread.  It was rice, rice, and more rice.

DSCF6075

Nowadays, Japanese people love bread items, especially high quality ones.  (Although they still love their rice!)

DSCF6082

Pickles…Pickles….Altars!

DSCF6077

Hmmmm….which one should I choose today?

DSCF6078

For 8,000 dollars, this looks good.

DSCF6079

See,they have little cups for offerings.  We don’t have an altar at all in our home, but Baba and Jiji have a huge one.  Baba changes the rice offering daily.

DSCF6080

I don’t think I will be buying an altar today.

DSCF6081

I found it!  The pickle shop!  Except I was mistaken!  It’s not a pickle shop at all!  It’s somebody’s house!

DSCF6091

Oh, well.  So I go into this regular western style grocery store.

DSCF6085

Lots of cute things here, like Halloween natto.

 

DSCF6086

Yokai Watch fish cakes.

DSCF6087

Sweet sake for children (amazake)

DSCF6088

Pickles!  I found them!  Japanese people adore fresh pickles.

DSCF6089

This is what the supermarket looks like.

DSCF6090

That sign says “Fukushima Izumi ten kinkou kudamono no”

“Fruits from the area surrounding Izumi area of Fukushima.”

 

DSCF6092

Oh my.  Look away.  LOOK AWAY.

DSCF6093

Hallo Halloween.    You know how much I love stupid puns.

 


Normally, I never eat pickles, but I have been thinking about getting into them.  Japan has so many lovely (and expensive) pickles to choose from.  I heard they are low calorie.

However, I brought the pickles home and my husband frowned. He said that pickles are NOT healthy.  They contain way too much sodium.  (This I am aware of.  Japanese people have a high rate of stomach cancer due to their high sodium intake.  They get tested every year and usually it is caught early and easily curable.  In fact, Jiji had his stomach cancer cut out of his stomach…twice.)

So yeah, I should just stick to fresh fruit and vegetables.  But let’s face it…that’s BORING!!!!

DSCF6058

Fukushima pickles….Yum.