There is a wonderful site called Read Aloud Revival that is devoted to reading aloud.  The podcasts are free, so I have been listening to them while cleaning.  (Note:  Like a lot of educational blogs on the net, it leans towards homeschooling and also is Christian based. This doesn’t bother me, but it may bother some, so just giving a heads up.)

Of course, long ago I read “The Read Aloud Handbook” (secular)  by Jim Trelease and “Honey for a Child’s Heart” (Christian) by Gladys Hunt.  These books give suggestions of high quality books to read.

Read Aloud Revival’s sponsor is Audible and they really push audible.  I have not joined audible.   I tend to sit down and read to my son, something we both enjoy.  If we are not doing this, then I will have the TV on (or more recently….Netflix Japan!)  Yeah, bad!!!!  LOL   Or also we listen to the intermediate lessons on Japanese Pod 101.

Here is a link to a list of 1000 quality books for kids.

DSCF5859

When I went back to America I bought a few audiobook CD’s and when I first got back I was really good about putting them in, but I have relapsed.  I’m just not an audiobook person, I guess!  Sometimes I enjoy it, but I like the closeness of actually reading to my son.


Right now as I am typing this I am listening to Read Aloud Revival Podcast 22 (Joyce Carol Seid) and she says she was not read aloud to when she was young…..so true confessions!

I was NOT read aloud to when I was a kid.  Don’t feel sorry for me! My mom and dad were great, but I don’t think there was that homeschooling culture back then, and no internet to tell you what a good parent should be doing.

My sister was a VORACIOUS reader.  I was a big reader, but not like my sister.  My brother was not a reader (though he enjoyed comics, and I think now that he is an adult he reads a lot more.)

One thing we had going for us is that my mom was always buying us books.  If we wanted a book, she would buy it.  (And my sister and I were always wanting books.)  She was a member of book clubs that sent you quality books (back in the seventies when it was harder to acquire things.)   We had all the box sets of the quality books of the seventies: Little House, Great Brain, Narnia, Ramona and so on.  Even though she provided lots of books for me and my sister (and also my brother but he tended to ignore them), I don’t consider my mom a big reader.  She reads a little, but not like me and my sister.  And my son isn’t either.  I have to remind myself that different people enjoy different things.