I was riding my bike to a different part of town and found this house being destroyed.  It looks like it must have been a magnificent home at one time.

DSCF5406

DSCF5407

See that gorgeous door?  Swoon!

As somebody who lives in a very boring box, it pains me to see these old beautiful structures dying away.  I don’t really and truly think modern Japanese cities are very charming because the architecture tends to be so damn functional.   Fukushima is not so bad, because it is a small city and surrounded by nature.  But the closer you get to Tokyo….the suburbs are just endless and Everything Look Same.  Of course I realize the old charming buildings are expensive and difficult to keep up…..nevertheless I hate to see them go!


Yesterday, we library volunteers went to the public library to choose books for elementary school students.

I chose:

Charlotte’s Web

The 39 Clues (have never read it, but it gets a lot of buzz on the internet)

Freddy the Hamster book

The Boxcar Children (first in the series)

Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key (Have not read this, but would like to)

Mockingbird (Have not read this, but would like to)

Babe, the Sheep Pig

Cheburaska–Have seen this here in Japan, but don’t know much about it.  According to Wiki:  “an iconic Russian classic cartoon character who later became a popular character in Russian jokes”

Encyclopedia Brown  (I read this a lot when I was a kid, but I think probably it seems old-fashioned nowadays.)

The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Steve Jobs biography

Anne Frank (a book about her, not her diary)

Bud, Not Buddy

I don’t remember what picture books I chose so well but:

Not a Stick

Toot and Puddle  (Love the illustrations.)

The 500 Hats of Bartholamew Cubbins (Remember my second grade teacher read this aloud.  Picture books used to be so much longer. )

Curious George Goes to A Halloween Party I was looking for Halloween books.  This is Japan, so they exist, but not front and center.

Grandfather’s Journey

Remember these are all Japanese translations,  Not original versions.  No way could a typical elementary school Japanese kid read a book in English!