Today’s topic is “Hanafuda”.  Hanafuda is a traditional Japanese card game.  I wish I could say that I have played Hanafuda.  It might make this blog post more interesting.  But we are more of an UNO family.

 

 

DSCF5403

Prior to leaving for America, I discovered these Hanafuda card sets (about 1,000 yen each) at Toys R Us.  I bought them to give as presents to Americans.  The great thing is that they have English on them, and the instructions are both in Japanese and English.

 

DSCF5404

Even if the game is never properly played, it is still a neat gift because the cards themselves are so very interesting.  You can see them on the back of the packages.  I can imagine Americans using them to decorate or give to friends or whatever.  They are just really pretty.

If anybody has actually played Hanafuda, please tell us about it in the comments!  I would like to know if the game is as complicated as it seems.


Calling all writers who are residents of the United States!   (Not me…..I am a resident of Japan.)

Chipotles is having a fun writing contest.  Go to their website and write a little book report about one of their teeny tiny stories and you may win a fabulous prize!   What?  “I probably won’t win…” you say?  Well, think of it this way.  Beverly Cleary won her first writing contest–because she was the only one who entered!  So maybe YOU will be the only one who enters!  Get cracking!