I love Japanese yokai (traditional spirits/ghosts.)  It’s a whole new world of fascinating creatures, totally different than the witches, vampires and ghosts I grew up with in America.

Yokai Watch is coming to America in spring  of 2016.  I told my little relative to get ready, because THEY’RE COMING!!!!!!  That’s what I said in 1996 about Pokemon, and look what happened.  They came!

Here is a clip of Yokai Watch:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAOuf497R2M  They have definitely made the world of yokai cute.   No ghastly creatures in Yokai Watch!  Yokai Watch is the the ghostly equivalent to Casper the Friendly Ghost.  It is not going to scare anyone.


At our local museum (Comu Comu) they had a Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro exhibit over the summer. I posted about it previously.  Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro originated from a manga about the yokai world–cute, but still with a bit of bite to it.   Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro is the equivalent of, hmmm let me see, those ghosts that always appeared in the Scooby Doo cartoon show.  (That TV show scared the crap out of me when I was four.)

Except Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro is REAL .  Not people in costume.  It’s a dead kid and his eyeball father.  Here are photos from the exhibit:  (Photography was allowed.)

DSCF5368

Welcome….if you dare

 

 

DSCF5408

A maze for the little ones.  I heard one kid went in there…and never came out.

DSCF5409

The Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro characters.  On the far right is the dead kid.  In the middle is his eyeball father.   And that girl is a cat girl.

DSCF5410

Diorama of the Ge Ge Ge world.

DSCF5411

I found this extremely interesting.  This map shows where each Yokai originates.  This must be why I love Roku Roku Bi so much (The lady with the long neck who kills her lovers.)  She is from Fukushima!

DSCF5413

Yokai specific to Tohoku.  Fascinating.  (Tohoku is the northern part of the Honshu Island.  If you look at that green map, Fukushima is at the very bottom of Tohoku.)

DSCF5414

In the haunted house

DSCF5416

DSCF5417

DSCF5419

DSCF5420

DSCF5421

Whew!  We made it out safely.  Cool.

Yokai Watch, Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro kicks your ass!

And the Japanese movie “Juon:  The Grudge”  kicks both your asses!  (Warning, don’t watch if–like me– you are easily scared.)  This is Juon’s trailer:

—–Okay, I inserted the trailer for the “Jyuon” horror movie here.  However, even without watching it, you could see a photo of it.  And it was horribly frightening.  So I deleted it.  Anybody interested can google it.  My husband likes scary movies, and he said Juon is too scary for him.—–