I’ve posted about this before.  My son is working his way up the Eiken ladder.  The Eiken is an English proficiency test for Japanese people.  Here is the guide to levels.  You get an application at a bookstore and you need to know a bit of Japanese to fill it out, but it’s not too difficult.   I think my son has valued the process of taking the Eiken tests, and it gives him something concrete.  Rather than “Oh, we speak English at home.”  He can say, “I passed Eiken Pre 2.”

DSCF5358

DSCF5359

Now, we are challenging Eiken 2!  Below are some study guides to help a person prepare for the test.  Level pre 1 in green.  Then 2, pre 2, and 3 in orange.  There’s also four and five and one, of course, but they aren’t in the photo.

DSCF5237

For every single test, I have bought this book and we do the practice tests.  Starts out VERY easy with Level Five.

DSCF5238

This is Level Two  It’s multiple choice (the choices are on a separate page).  It’s the one he will take next.  Up to this point, I was confident he would pass the tests.  I am no longer as confident.  It’s possible we have met our Waterloo.

DSCF5239

Regardless of whether he passes or not, it will be EXCELLENT practice for him.  So it is definitely worth doing.

And then after he passes the written portion, he must take an interview portion.  Again there are practice tests we can do together.  I have heard that for young children, the interviews can be tough because sometimes kids don’t have the general knowledge of the subject.  Topics like “importing food” and “solar panels” are topics that I doubt my son thinks about and may possibly not really have much of an opinion about.  I’ll work with him though, and teach him the fine art of “bullshitting.”

Why yes, I feel that globalization is important for Japan’s future because it is wonderful when we have globalization.  And that is why I feel it is important.


This is really helpful.  If you click on a box, it shows a virtual Eiken interview test.  It shows you EXACTLY what the interview is like and what you, the test taker, are supposed to do.  Simply click on the number of your test.  (1=highest level)

Here is a youtube video for a level three interview.

This site has helpful hints.  I will translate:

If you don’t understand the question, say “Pardon me?”

If you need more time, say “Let me see.”

What if you can’t express yourself well?  Say as much as you able to say.  (Say “Look”  if you can not say “He is a looking at a picture”.  Don’t just say nothing.)


My husband read in the newspaper that a written portion will be added to the higher level tests!  Uh oh!  So be prepared for that in the near future.

 

EIKEN APPLICATION FORMS ARE AVAILABLE AT JAPANESE BOOKSTORES.  THE DEADLINE FOR THE UPCOMING TEST IS SEPTEMBER 15, 2015.


JLPT N2 summer 2015 results for me:  Not passed!  Two points away from passing!  Waaaaa!!!!

I told my husband and he said, “Great job!  You will pass next time!”  ❤