I loved visiting the city`s public library.  It is a suburb of Dallas, and not very large, so the library was not as large as it might be in a larger city. However, it was very comfortable with lots of great books.  o(^◇^)o

DSCF5467

The kids` section.

DSCF5468

So many children’s books!  I think the books in the photo above are actually Spanish.  The library mostly has (of course) books in English, and also a sectin devoted to Spanish books.

DSCF5469

Lots and lots and LOTS of DVD’s.  The Fukushima library system does not carry DVD’s so this is a little amazing to me.

DSCF5471

Some of the books I checked out.  Actually, we never got to Thimble Summer.  I read two Great Brain books to my son, and also “Rabbit Hill” by Robert Lawson.

DSCF5470

Some more books that I checked out.

DSCF5543

I looked around the picture books.  My son is a little too old for picture books, but I try to sneak them into his life anyway.

DSCF5544

This book had Chinese characters.  It did not have the readings, though, in either Chinese or Japanese…which was a little weird.  How are people supposed to know how to pronounce the kanji?

DSCF5545

America!

DSCF5546

What a cute book!

DSCF5547

My son has American citizenship.  He is American!

DSCF5548

This book was wonderful.  It was not about the tsunami of 2011, but instead it is the story of a tsunami that occured long ago.

DSCF5549

I’ve seen this tale told in other books, but this book had the best illustrations I’ve seen.

DSCF5550

Going home to Mexico.

DSCF5551

Read this out loud to the little relatives, who claimed they were not listening, but I know they were.

DSCF5552

There was a section of foreign folktales, and so I looked for Japanese tales.  There was not much at all.  I found this book.

DSCF5553

However, upon reading through it, I don’t think it is an authentic folktale.

DSCF5563

About the nuclear power plant meltdown.

DSCF5564

Interesting book for kids.

Link to other great mamas from another motherland 

Expat Life with a Double Buggy