Today’s idea is not my idea.  I got the idea from amazon, where you can spend about ten bucks for one of these balls.  And here is a blog post about it.

DSCF5283

What I did was I went to the 100 yen shop and bought a little ball and stickers, big enough to write a question on.

DSCF5284

Then I wrote questions on the stickers.  Yes, I KNOW that I spelled “reluctant” wrong!!!!!  That’s the danger of preparing your own materials instead of just buying them.

I used some vocabulary words that have come up in English Time.  (“reluctant” “frail” “perilous”) But of course the questions can be anything, or they can be commands or whatever.

DSCF5285

Voila!  The child is supposed to ask and answer the question that his thumb lands on.  Neat, huh.

The beauty of MY ball is that I can rip off the stickers and make new questions.  This is nice since I also use it for the kids I teach English to.  They have really easy questions, of course.  So I have saved a lot of money!


Here is what I found while researching this post.  If you are trying to get your child to speak more, these links are worth looking at.  Also, some of the toys and games can be made at home if you can’t purchase them.  (Like the ball above.)

best new games for speech

ways to get your little ones to talk

best kids’ apps (site that rates apps)

info about value of toys and how to use them

best toys for a really little child for speech

best games for  child for speech

best games for child for speech

best card games for kids (in general)