I’ve been in Japan twenty years exactly. I came here in late July for the Jet Programme in 1995.

Here is a song to commemorate the day.  This song is extremely famous.  If you live in Japan, you have probably heard it and have been haunted by its sad melody.  It’s the kind of song that when you stop and hear it and you don’t even know the lyrics, you want to cry.  Once you understand the lyrics, you really do start crying!

When you look at the Youtube video below, you’ll see the singer who made this song famous.  His name is Jerry Fujio ジェリー藤尾.

I attempted to research a bit about him, and there is not much at all in English.  In Japanese on Wikipedia, I found this:
“1940年に高知県出身でNHKアナウンサーの父・藤尾薫宏とイギリス人の母・オリビア・ヒース・ゴンザレス[2]のもと、当時の中華民国上海の日本租界で生まれる”
He was born in China in 1940 to a Japanese dad and a British mum.  Later they moved to Japan where he grew up.
Knowing this bit of information, all of us foreign mamas in Japan, doesn’t this song pull at our heartstrings a little bit harder?  Maybe it is an ode to his mother.

I want to go somewhere far away

I want to walk some town I’ve never been.
I want to go somewhere far away.
I want to watch the sea I’ve never seen.
I want to go somewhere far away.

A distant town, a distant sea.
A distant dream, traveling alone.
I want to meet someone I can truly love.
I want to go somewhere far away.

We will love each other, we will believe each other.
We will be happy someday.
I want to meet someone I can truly love.
I want to go somewhere far away.

Here is a movie montage.  You can seem him when he was younger, but there is no singing in this version.  (It’s karaoke.)

遠くへ行きたい(tookue ikitai)

OriginalTransliteration

知らない町を步いてみたい
どこか遠くへ行きたい
知らない海を眺めていたい
どこか遠くへ行きたい

遠い街遠い海
夢はるか一人旅
愛する人と巡り合いたい
どこか遠くへ行きたい

愛し合い信じ合い
いつの日か幸せを
愛する人と巡り合いたい
どこか遠くへ行きたい

Shiranai machiwo aruite mitai
Dokoka tookue ikitai
Shiranai umiwo nagamete itai
Dokoka tookue ikitai

Tooi machi tooi umi
Yume haruka hitori tabi
Aisuru hitoto meguriaitai
Dokoka tookue ikitai

Aishiai shinjiai
Itsunohika shiawasewo
Aisuru hitoto meguri aitai

I am getting the translation from lyricstranslate.

Would I do it all over again?  Would I?