DSCF5201

I have been bringing you the seasonal traditional snacks, and this is the snack of summer!  Mizu Yokan.  You chill it in the fridge before eating it.

DSCF5214

Red Sweet bean on left, Maccha on right.

DSCF5215

It was sort of like red sweet bean jello.  Not too sweet at all.

DSCF5216

I liked it….but love it?  No.  I never really love (most) traditional Japanese snacks.  I think it may depend on what you grew up with.   If a certain sort of snack brings back memories of grandma, then that’s the snack you will adore.

I will say that yokan is a snack I often purchase for elderly folks in Japan because 1.) it is their soul food and 2.) it is soft and therefore easy to chew.


The following Mizu Yokan is from a totally different sweets shop.  It is still the seasonal snack of summer…..but every shop does it differently!

DSCF5355

It’s that little dark snackie right there in the exact center.  It’s hiding……..But I’m gonna getcha, l’il snackie!

DSCF5357

Gotcha!  Notice that it does look different in presentation from the mizu yokan in the first photos.  But its fate is the same:  My tummy!

DSCF5356

Wow, Japan has lots of delicious snackies! Yum!