I was reading yesterday’s post again and I don’t want to give anyone the impression that I treat the whole radiation thing lightly.  I was just giving my impression of that particular book, which IMHO was not a great book, mostly because the English in it was rather odd.  Don’t let my jokey jokey nature fool you.  The radiation disaster is HORRIBLE!!!!!!! 

So don’t nobody think otherwise.

Okay, moving on to today’s post:


Hydrangeas.

I think everybody has a strong opinion on these controversial flowers.  Lovely and huge during the rainy season?  Or yukky and dead during the heat of season?  They don’t drop off daintily.  They just sort of hang on forever and remind you of a time when the cicadas didn’t drone, the sun wasn’t so bright, and it just wasn’t so incredibly dang hot.

These photos are from back in June.

I really wanted to go to a “hydrangea” park in Matsukawa Town.  It’s official name is Doaidate Kouen, but I just call it the hydrangea park.  So I set off from the train station and followed the signs:

DSCF5188

Unfortunately, they skipped a sign at a left turn and I got sort of lost.  But it was a fun sort of lost.  A twenty minutes of wandering around and discovering interesting things sort of lost.

DSCF5168

I found “Hydrangea Lane” a street lined with hydrangeas.

DSCF5166

I met this young lad, earnestly studying while carrying wood on his back.

DSCF5169

And these two children.

DSCF5170

Fifty minutes later, I arrived at the park.  It is quite large.  This is a map.

DSCF5171

That’s playground equipment to the right.

Sidenote:  That is the EVIL SLIDE where I totally hurt my butt.  A few days later I came back with my son, and I slid down it too hard and fast and really landed with a thump.  It still hasn’t healed.  😦  So I saw the doctor, and he said nothing is broken.  I posted on FB and my relative who is a doctor said I should get a donut pillow.  I have to post on FB to finally get good advice.  What is wrong with you Japanese doctors???!!!!?????  (Yes, it hurts when I sit.  I am now officially a pain in the ass.)

DSCF5172

Um….hello!

DSCF5174

Very peaceful.

DSCF5176

Found a shrine!

DSCF5177

I love Shishi.

DSCF5178

Yep, it’s got a lot of hydrangeas.

DSCF5179

DSCF5180

DSCF5181

DSCF5182

There is a cat in the distance.

DSCF5183

I zoomed in on the stray cat.

DSCF5184

DSCF5185

“Do Ai Date Kouen”

DSCF5186

On my way back, I didn’t get lost, so it took me only about fifteen or so minutes.  This cat was so very friendly.  She kept meowing at me and approached me.

DSCF5187

This poor cat has NOT been well taken care of.  I wanted so badly to take her home with me.

DSCF5189

Matsukawa’s little train station.

DSCF5191

Inside the train bound for Fukushima City.  The conductor is using a tablet to assist a passenger.

DSCF5192

We have arrived at Fukushima City!


A few days later, I went back with my son.  It was a VERY different experience.  It was rainy, so strike one.  It was the day of the Hydrangea Festival, which should have been fun but was actually kind of annoying.  So strike two.  And third—-my son begged me to slide down the slide.  I did, and bumped my butt against the ground.  Ouch!  Strike three.

It’s weird how one day can be so glorious and another day can be so dreadful.