Here are the posters advertising Fukushima as a tourist destination, and you may have seen them where you live.  (Um.  Assuming you are in Japan.  I gather that Fukushima been pushed in places like Tokyo.)

Some of these signs I could read, others I got help with from the kind people at the tourist center.

DSCF5104

Look at this poster in the middle it says, “Iyashi” and under that it says in hiragana “Fukushima”

Iyashi is the noun of the verb “Iyasu” which according to my dictionary means “to heal, cure”

Iyashi was explained to me as meaning that your troubles were removed.  See, you can tell by the women it’s probably an onsen or some sort of hotel that you can relax in.  (Fukushima has a lot of onsen)

DSCF5105

This kanji in the middle is “Tanbou” and according to my dictionary means “to visit a place an inquire into something.”  So basically, sightseeing.  That’s Aizu Wakamatsu’s castle in the photo, off in western Fukushima.

DSCF5106

This kanji says, “Mankai” which means “in full bloom.”  Fukushima is a large prefecture with lots of nature, and of course, lots of flowers.

DSCF5107

This kanji is “Kansha” which means “Thanks, gratitude”.  So I understand the food.  We are thankful for delicious food.  But the girls hula dancing?  I’m not sure.  I think they just wanted to include their photo on a poster!

By the way, Iwaki is famous for hula dancing, so that photo is from there.  I have had people here in Fukushima City tell me that they go to Iwaki City for the hula dancing lessons (because the best teachers live there.)   They must be committed because it’s quite far to Iwaki City from Fukushima City.

DSCF5108

This poster says “Bimi” That means “good flavor, deliciousness.”  Lots of sake in the photo and restaurant workers.

So now you can read the posters!  Amaze your friends and family!  😉