I have posted about it before, but my husband adores Uniqlo.  He is a practical clothes shopper, and he likes to go in, gets what he needs, and leaves in twenty minutes.  Where is the fun in that???? I amused myself by taking photos of their funky summer t-shirts.   DSCF5249 Moomin is so popular in Japan.  It’s always been popular, but I think it is experiencing a revival. DSCF5250 Astroboy!  Or “Atom” as they say in Japan. DSCF5251 Tin Tin DSCF5252 Japanesey DSCF5253 America! DSCF5254 More Japanesey DSCF5255 Star Wars…I think my husband bought one of these for our son. DSCF5256 I bought a Moomin shirt for my niece.  They English is always so odd and funny.  Although it never really quite makes sense

DSCF5257

kind of like this blog


This is not a shopping blog, but I think it’s fun to look at what one can purchase in a foreign country so that’s why I include blog posts like today’s.  However, this is actually a “learning Japanese and English” site.

So today I’d like to mention that while we were at Uniqlo, my son and I chatted (in English, of course!  We NEVER speak in Japanese.) about the pictures on the t-shirts.  Some were before his time and I could explain about them.  He also wanted to know whether the English on the Moomin shirts was correct or not.

There was a shirt with the character from the old 80’s movie “Gremlins.”  Sorry, I did not take a photo of it.  I did not realize we would get such a good conversation out of it!

Anyway, previously I have explained the ratings systems in America to my son for movies (G  PG  PG-13  R  X) and also told him that I remember that the “Gremlins” movie was the catalyst for getting the PG-13 rating.  “Gremlins” was only PG (which basically meant that moms brought their wee little ones to it) despite being quite violent.  Lots of mothers were angry upon seeing this movie, and thus, the PG-13 rating came into effect.  I remember this all plainly.

So I told my son the most violent scene in the movie–the scene in the kitchen.  We had all been expecting a sweet movie about furballs and get this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIrd4172Czw

I described it to my son, how I watched it when I was a kid, my jaw hanging in astonishment.  And I showed him the video.  Scary!  Scary!

Okay, now to give some information that I have previously discussed on this blog:  My husband loves horror movies.  I hate them.  He thinks that me telling my son “Ooooh, scary!  Scary!” will discourage him from watching scary movies.  Hey, I am what I am.   My son can watch what he wants.

The truth is though, that my son tends to take after me and does not like violence.  He’s sensitive this way.  (My husband doesn’t realize this.  Or if he does, he would say it is because I encouraged him to be scared.)

In some ways, my son is even more sensitive than me.  I enjoyed the book “Bridge to Terabithia” very much when I was a child.  But when we reached the critical part in the book (toward the end) my son demanded I stop reading it.

Is this a result from living through the earthquake?  I don’t know for sure, but I think my son is just inherently sensitive.  That is just his make up.  He hated watching the tsunami coverage, and we don’t watch stuff like that on TV.   But yes, I don’t know whether the earthquake had anything to do with his sensitive nature.