Okay, they are not REALLY Japanese Little Golden Books!  Sorry to mislead you that way.

Ever since I first came to Japan, I have seen these little books for preschoolers in grocery stores.  I think of them as the Little Golden Books of Japan.  They are cheap little books that moms can grab for their little one.  They have lots of themes (though not as many as Little Golden Books.)  Disney movies, fairytales–Japanese and western, Ultraman and so on.

Here is what they look like at my American style grocery store:

DSCF4964

The part of me that likes to shop crosses with the part of me that likes books and of course I want to buy them!  I don’t think I ever have though.  They seem pretty flimsy, and a bit of a waste of money.  I think we may have a couple that Baba bought long ago, though.

Quiz Time!  They following books are all western fairy tales.  What are they?  (Answers at bottom.)

1.

DSCF4965

2.

DSCF4966

3.

DSCF4967

4.

DSCF4968

5.

DSCF4969

6.

DSCF4971

7.

DSCF4972

8.

DSCF4973

9.

DSCF4974

1.  The Ugly Duckling (Minikui Ahiru no Ko)

2. Puss in Boots (Nagagutsu o Haita Neko)

3. Hansel and Gretel  (Hanseru & Gureteru)

4. Little Red Riding Hood (Akazukinchan)

5. The Little Match Girl (Macchi Uri no Shoujyou)

6.  Jack and the Beanstalk (Jakku to Mame no Ki)

7.  The Little Tin Solder (Omochya no Heitai)  (This is a fairy tale I was not familiar with until I was an adult.  It is somewhat popular in Japan, I think.)

8. Snow White (Shirayuki Hime)

9. The Wolf and the Seven Kids (Ookami to Shichi Hiki no Koyagi)  (I was not familiar with this one before coming to Japan.  However, it is quite famous in Japan.)