I am one of the few readers in the English speaking world who has NOT finished the Harry Potter series.  Yes, I know I am totally uncool.

Our library, thankfully, has the entire series in English.  So I went there to borrow the second to last book:  “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.”   (I cannot complain about our city library!  I am most definitely blessed.)

Then I settled into a comfy chair to read the English edition of Time magazine.  (Again blessed!)

Whilte reading the Time magazine, I came across this quote by J.K. Rowling.  She said:

“Today I would just like to say:  I’m really sorry about the death of ——.”

DSCF4948

Except it didn’t have —–.  It had the character’s name!  And it is a main character!   Aaaaaaaaah!  Why, Time Magazine, WHY?!?!

So anyway, now I know who dies.  I might as well chuck the series and turn to the internet 24/7 for my entertainment.  However, my brain is starting to atrophy from Minion jokes and Cute Kitty videos.  So I MUST CONQUER THE HARRY POTTER SERIES.


I haven’t really enjoyed reading the Harry Potter series to my son because the books are so very long.   However, we have come this far in the series so I settled in and started reading him the “Half-Blood Prince” book.

Constantly, he kept interrupting and asking me to read other books.  So I’d say, “Do you want me to continue?” And he would say “It’s okay.”

Finally, I realized he was NOT enjoying it.  (He has never been a Harry Potter fan.)  So I stopped immediately.  Life is too short to slog through a read-aloud that your child doesn’t enjoy.

I next committed a horrible crime against literacy.  I chose a Goosebumps book!

My son loves these simple little books, which are action packed and have lots of cliffhangers.  When we reached a cliffhanger, I would ask, “What do you think will happen next?”   “What would YOU do if you were him?”  My son loves this particular book, about a comic book superhero.  (I choose carefully because some Goosebumps are perhaps scary.)

So basically, while I love the lists and the advice out there about read-aloud, I think in the end you have to follow your instincts about what is best for your family.  We are just not a “Harry Potter” family nor probably will be “The Secret Garden” family  (Although I might give “The Secret Garden” a try because it is truly a wonderful book.)

It’s important to find books that fit one’s family.


 

By the way, I am still reading the Bible to my son after breakfast.  It’s a kids’ version with easy to understand sentences.  Anyway, my husband was sitting at the table today listening and said, “Oh, that’s impossible to understand.  He doesn’t understand it.”

I said, “He does understand it!  He does!  He does!  Don’t you, honey?”

To which my son was like, Keep me out of your arguments. I don’t want to be in the middle of this.

I read some more, and my son showed he was listening–and understood–by asking questions.  “Ha!  There!” I said to my husband.

I think for my husband–who never listens to the read-alouds normally and for whom English is a second language–it did truly sound like Blah Blah Jesus Blah Blah Blah Blah.  It was a reminder to me to read slowly and clearly.