There’s a funny story behind today’s picture.  I always post my photos on FB and my mom saw this one and said, “Who is the saint on the book?”  Hello, Mom?  Did you even read my explanation?  That’s Kaguya Hime!!!!!!

DSCF4890

Princess Kaguya of fairy tale fame.

I saw the movie–finally–that Ghibli made about this fairy tale.  In English, the movie is called, “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya.”  It has excellent ratings on Rotten Tomatoes.

Anyway, I tried to watch it last summer immediately after my trip abroad to America.  BIG MISTAKE.  It is a VERY slow-moving movie and I was jet lagged so I fell asleep immediately.  Do not watch this movie when you are tired!  It is the kind of movie that you need to give your full attention to.

So anyway, recently I watched it while fully awake and loved it.  It’s slow, but it’s entertaining.  It’s beautifully done, and very not-Disney.  I recommend it!