DSCF4753

I saw this on my son’s desk and snapped a photo of it.  English homework.  For SCHOOl.  Yes, way too easy.  But he is enjoying English class (so far.)  So that’s good.

I get the feeling though that the Japanese teacher is not doing anything to make it fun.  They learned the days of the week, and I asked “Did you sing the song?”  “No, she just said them.”

How boring!  I thought.  I  know jhs isn’t all fun and games, but surely there is place in the middle where seriousness and frivolty can meet.  I think we need to look at how a language is really learned.

Language is primarily learned from loved ones.

Mom and dad are the first ones to teach a baby how to speak.  So I think a language teacher needs to be gentle and playful like a mom and dad.

I used to be a JET teacher, and the foreigners who were English teachers tended to be much more playful and game oriented than regular Japanese teachers.   Japanese teachers are teaching for the test.  The foreign teachers are teaching for communication.

Let me tell you a bit about my JET teaching.  I was in a rural town located near Narita airport.  I taught at the town’s jhs school, plus the elementary school clubs.  It was a great way to see firsthand how Japanese jhs school are run!

When I was a JET, the other JET teachers would often complain that the Japanese schools were too formal.   I never really felt that way.   I was raised Catholic!!!!!!   Hello, is there anything more formal than Catholic mass?  A Japanese assembly was just another Sunday morning for me.  🙂

As a JET, some of the Japanese teachers I taught with were  marvelous, some were pitiful.   One would hit the students until I asked him not to.  (Hitting occasionally still happens in Japanese classrooms.)

Okay, here’s some more of my son’s English stuff.

DSCF4944

“I saw it”

DSCF4945

100% on this assignment except the romaji!