A few days ago, I showed a “Buddha Statue Photo Exhibit” and said I wanted to see more of Fukushima City’s Buddhas.  So I found a place on the map that was nearby and rode my bike there.  (About a twenty minute bike ride from the station.)

DSCF4699

It’s a really nice and easy ride along a jogging path.

DSCF4701

Fukushima is lovely in the spring!

DSCF4703

I stopped at a certain point.  According to my map, there were Buddhist statues here up on the side of Shinobu Mountain.  Hmmmmm……..Nobody has told me about this before!   Off to explore.

DSCF4704

Up….through a cemetary

DSCF4705

Found some Buddhas….I don’t know how old these are.  However, they are not the big event.  Just an hors d’ouevre.  (Or um whatever.)

DSCF4707

Wow, I’m in Japan.

DSCF4708

Okay, I reached the top.  Not the top of the mountain, but the top of the path.

DSCF4709

Another Buddha

DSCF4710

Some sort of bell

DSCF4711

You know…I’m glad this is in Japan.  If it was in America, there would be graffitti all over it!

DSCF4713

Found them….The Famous and Old Buddha Statues.  They date to the Heian period (795 A.D. to 1185 A.D.)

DSCF4714

I’m glad this in Japan…..if this was in Syria, it would get blown up with dynamite!

DSCF4715

It’s like a museum outside.  Very peaceful and calm.  I was the only one there.  This is a definitely a well-kept secret treasure.

DSCF4716

Who carved you?  Long long ago…..

DSCF4717

Who gathered here to pray?  Long long ago (and still today)

DSCF4718

Okay, that’s all, time to head down.

DSCF4719

Gosh, it’s really steep.

DSCF4720

Another path…this mountain is laced with them.

DSCF4721

Dressed in their finest….later I came with my son, and a volunteer was sweeping and keeping everything looking nice.  (She told me she was a volunteer.)

DSCF4722

Spring flowers

DSCF4723

Okay, I’m at the bottom of the mountain.

DSCF4724

At the foot of the stairs, there is this map of the area.  Of course, I notice it when I leave.

If you are interested in viewing Iwaya-Kannon Buddhist Statues, rent a bicycle (I think the bicycles might be free?) from the Fukushima City train station area and follow a map (eaily obtained from the tourism center at the train station.).  It’s really easy.


If you are wondering why my son is not present in the photos….well, I knew that I would want to go slowly and take photos.  Whereas he goes at a different pace than me and has no patience for photos.  So in the future, I’ll probably do more of this…go by myself.  Then later, take my son.

And honestly…….Let’s be honest here, shall we.  I am a tad bit obsessive compulsive with the photos.  So it’s nice just to have a some photo-free time with my son.  Just the two of us.  (And my husband, if he comes, too!)