It’s that time of year again!  The time when I show my son’s textbooks to all you nosy beloved readers!

Right after the entrance ceremony, I took the textbooks out of my son’s bag and took a photo of each one, alone with a random page from each one.  Enjoy!

 

DSCF4519

Music.  (If you look close closely it says in English “The Present Song”–a poor translation of the title “Ongaku no Okurimono”.  (Literally Music’s Gift)  (I think a better translation would be “The Gift of Music.”)

DSCF4520

Random pages of the music book

DSCF4521

Another music book, this one focusing on musical instruments.  The title is chugakusei no gakki (Junio High School Students’ Instruments)

DSCF4522

Random page of the instrument page…..I think they learn the basics of playing musical instruments.  This makes me happy because my son never did piano or anything like that, and also he is not choosing brass band as his after school club.)

DSCF4523

Science

DSCF4524

Random pages of science text

DSCF4525

Math

DSCF4526

Random page of Math

DSCF4527

Geography

DSCF4528

Random page of Geography—-the entire book is maps of various parts of the world

DSCF4529

History

DSCF4530

Random page of history

DSCF4531

Social Studies

DSCF4532

Random pages of Social Studies

DSCF4533

Calligraphy

DSCF4534

Random page of Calligraphy

DSCF4535
Japanese

DSCF4536

Random pages of Japanese

DSCF4537

Homemaking–I’m glad he’s taking this class.

DSCF4538

Homemaking pages

DSCF4539

English

DSCF4540

random pages of English–as you can see it is way way way too easy for my precious little snowflake from heaven

DSCF4541

P.E.

DSCF4542

P.E. pages…..Not sure if this can be taught with a text?  LOL  Reminds me of the Big Bang Theory where Sheldon learns swimming from the internet

DSCF4543

art

DSCF4544

art pages

DSCF4545

Health

DSCF4546

Random pages of health…I get the feeling this is a sex education class in disguise (but I’m not quite sure.)

DSCF4547

woodworking/engineering

DSCF4548

random page of the woodworking text…looks neat, doesn’t it

Okay, there you have have it.  He (annoyingly) keeps the textbooks at home and carries what he needs to school.  (Just like elementary school.)  Hello.  Lockers, people.  LOCKERS!!!!!!!  Keep the crap very educational textbooks in the school cuz I don’t want it here.  And yes, his school bag wears a ton.  That boy will graduate school with strong arm muscles if nothing else.


By the way, if you are new to this blog or don’t know about Japan—-the school year here starts in April.  So he just started his school year last month.  He won’t get summer vacation until July (for about one month) and then continues until March of next year.  (With a vacation of a few weeks in winter.)  Yes, it’s confusing!


I wanted to add that yesterday we had an earthquake here in northern Japan.   We haven’t one in a while, and I was thinking that the terrible aftershocks were over.  However, I read in the news that yesterday’s earthquake was an aftershock of 3/11.  (How the heck do they KNOW this?)  So they are still continuing.

To quote my son, “You don’t have to travel.  You can just use Google Maps.”  And you don’t have to come to Fukushima!  I know most of you aren’t planning to come anyway!  You just read this blog and experience Fukushima.

By the way, Google Maps makes a fun activity.  You and your child take turns looking up famous or familar places and guess where they are.  The White House!  Nintendo Headquarters!  North Korea!