DSCF4769

Hmmmmm……I can’t wait to see the traditional Japanese sweet of May and June.

DSCF4770

It’s on the left.   It’s kashiwa mochi!

 

DSCF4683

This is another’s store’s version of kashiwa mochi.

DSCF4800

And yet another store’s version.

 

DSCF4774

We peel off the oak leaf.  We don’t eat the leaf unless we are a billy goat!

DSCF4775

I tore it open to show the sweet red bean inside.  This is a sugary sweet stretchy snack.  I should have used a knife to cut it, but hey that’s not my personality!

Kashiwa Mochi is a snack for May and June, but I was told by my Japanese friend that it is especially given to children on Children’s Day (May 5).   So I checked the internet and discovered that it is an oak leaf wrapped around sweet sticky rice. “Since Oak trees don’t shed old leaves until new leaves grow, they are seen as a symbol of the prosperity of one’s descendants.”

Find yourself some kashiwa mochi and enjoy!


 

You know, one reason I post photos of Japanese items and culture like this is because I have lived here for ages and not known the intricacies of it all.  So all these years my son has missed out on lovely Children’s Day snackies because I’m just too befuddled by it all.  I hope others can learn a bit as they read this blog.

So here is his snackie for yesterday:

DSCF4802

No kashiwa mochi, as you can see, but there is a little fishie pancake and a helmet, both symbols of Children’s Day.  Plus two melty kisses, which I have been hoarding since they are only sold in winter.

Just a little something to show his mom loves him!

FULL DISCLOSURE:  Well.  He did not eat the Children’s Day snackies.  Instead, he got himself an ice cream claiming he was hot.  The truth is he does not eat a lot of the traditional snackies (although he does eat some–my husband tends to buy them more than I do) and he tends to prefer more western treats (I think.)   So we gave the snackies to my husband with a big “Otsukaresamadeshita!  This is for YOU!!!”