DSCF4488

And now for somethwing compwetewy diffewwent

I go to Catholic mass every Sunday morning.  I get the liturgy every week in both Japanese and English. The Japanese has furigana.  Perfect for Japanese practice!

So sometimes before mass I’ll read them, checking in my dictionary the meaning of difficult words.   It’s good practice, but one problem is that the difficult words are often VERY difficult.  Meaning that I won’t see them other in N2, if even then.

Also, sometimes I’ll try to decipher the Japanese and am totally puzzled, and then look at the English and discover that the English itself is quite difficult.  The Bible isn’t really easy to read.  (This is one reason I’m reading a children’s Bible in English to my son that is a retelling.)

DSCF4489

 

Here are some words I have learned from this religious training of sorts:

Holy Spirit-seirei 聖霊

disciple- deshi 弟子

God’s son–miko 御子 (be careful because the same word with a different kanji can mean “virgin consecrated to a deity”)

blessing- megumi 恵み

baptism- senrei 洗礼

an elder–chyourou 長老

glory- eikou 栄光

rebirth- fukkastu 復活

to guide-michibiku 導く

a dead person-shisya 死者

flax- ama 亜麻

prophet- yogenshya預言者

a rule-okite 掟

the people/a nation-tami 民

satisfy/fill up-fill up 満たす

I wonder how many of these words will appear on my N2 test this July?????????  Please, please, please!  Last year the tax went up in Japan and it was big news, so I kept reading the word “Tax”-zeikin 税金 in the newspapers.  I was really hoping it would be on the test……..but I didn’t see it.  Oh, well, here’s hoping this year’s test will be about blessings and prophets!