DSCF3724

Fukushima is having its Destination Campaign now.  So come to Fukushima, y’all.

DSCF4338

Prefectural Art Museum.  Currently undergoing renovations

DSCF4340

Totally random photos

DSCF4341

 

DSCF4347

DSCF4469

DSCF4470

Nasubi was here and we smiled at him and he smiled back.  He looked like a nice guy.  (I am dating myself here.  Nasubi was famous in the nineties for being naked in a room on TV.)   When we got home, my husband told me Nasubi is from Fukushima.

DSCF4471

Downtown fun stuff

DSCF4587

DSCF4588

Dashi Festival downtown


Travel in Fukushima City means for me a “staycation.”  When we first moved here nine years ago, I really didn’t know much at all about Fukushima.  And I really still don’t.  I learn more and more as time passes, and feel privileged to live here.  It’s not my FIRST choice in where to live.  (That would be somewhere in the U.S.!)  But in Japan?  Yeah, okay, I’ll say it.

Fukushima City is my FIRST choice as a home in Japan!*

For tourists who want to see Fukushima?  For beauty and history, the general concensus among those who know is that that’s further west of where I live–the AizuWakamatsu area.

For “Ohmigosh, I’ve been to nuclear holocaust Fukushima!” type people?  That’s further to the east of us, the Minami Soma area.  I’ve never been in that area ever, so I don’t have much to say about it.  Along the coast, I’ve only been to Iwaki, which I loved.

Koriyama City is wonderful, too.  It reminds me a lot of Fukushima City.  It’s the other “big” city in Fukushima Prefecture.  (But it’s really quite small when compared to Tokyo or Sendai City.)  The bullet train runs up through Koriyama City, then Fukushima City, then Sendai City, so it’s quite convenient for bullet train travellers.

Here is a map of Fukushima Prefecture so you can plan your next Vaycay.

*With the exception of Narita City, where I lived prior to Fukushima City.