DSCF4159

This is the bookstore Kyobunkwan in Ginza.  It was six narrow floors of one building, each floor a different section.  The above photo is the children’s books sections.  The books were VERY traditional.  For example, in the English section there was Wanda Gag’s “Millions of Cats” a book that dates from 1928.  Those were the kinds of books that were in stock.  No “Step Into Reading” or “Diary of a Wimpy Kid”.

DSCF4160

There was a Christian section.  Very large.  (For Japan.)  I thought I had never seen a Christian bookstore in Japan before, but my husband said we went here when our son was a Babu Babu Baby.

DSCF4161

The Easter section.  If there is one store in Japan you can count on having Easter stuff, it’s a Christian bookstore!

DSCF4162

English kids’ Bibles.  3,000 yen for the green large one.

DSCF4169

Okay, moving onto Maruzen near Tokyo Station.  Very nice bookstore for English materials.

DSCF4226

I bought these books.  NOT for my son.  He is twelve, and while he can enjoy these books, they are below his level.  I bought these for teaching English.  They seem like excellent ESL books.

I don’t have a smart phone, so I couldn’t whip it out and compare prices.  But I went on good faith, and they weren’t too expensive. A little less than 1,000 yen each.  When I got home, I discovered that amazon.co.jp doesn’t even sell these particular books!  (In book form.  I don’t know about e-books.)

That’ll be a sad day when they move completely from real books to e-books.  It’s happening, folks.  It’s happening.  (I have to admit that I am part of it because I own–and often use–a kindle.   So I’m guilty of it, too.)