A couple of weeks ago, we all went back to Tokyo as a family.  These photos are from the ritzy area of Tokyo, Omotesando.

DSCF4129

Pretending to be a ritzy local but in reality looking like a total tourist.

DSCF4130

Strange thing, but my son did not want to go into this Barbie Store.

DSCF4131

Funky cool.

DSCF4132

This shop resembles a temple.  My husband said that John Lennon and Yoko Ohno used to shop here.

DSCF4133

Shu Uemura.  Looks fun.

DSCF4134

A ritzy mall. The location used to be the site of a glamorous and expensive condominium. They tore it down when it got too old.

DSCF4135

Yes! LUNCHTIME!!!!! IT’S WHAT I’VE BEEN WAITING FOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (exhausted and famished from walking around so much)


 

In the Japanese news,  baby names can be famous for being weird.  Like “Akuma” (Devil) and Kitty.  Kira kira names is the term for those weird names.  (“kira kira” means twinkly).

I have consulted the authority on names (um, my husband) and some kira kira names are Ariel, Pikachu and Noah.  I said, “Noah is a normal name!”  It’s a very nice name, IMO.

To be honest, I don’t see kira kira names in real life.  (Except Noah, I have definitely seen that, but I don’t think it is kira kira.  It is normal normal.)

It’s fun to discuss the weird names in America among celebrities with my son.  I told him about Apple and North West and Tu Morrow.  Funny!!!!!!!  But in truth not many average Americans give these far out names.  http://www.sheknows.com/parenting/articles/810424/top-25-weird-celebrity-baby-names/page:2  Here’s a link to celebrity kira kira names in the U.S.

 

articles on kira kira names:

http://akihabaranews.com/2013/08/12/article-en/kira-kira-names-shiny-names-kids-chagrin-many-japan-1701127852

New wave of “creative” Japanese names read more like riddles

I brought up this topic because I think it is a good conversation with an older child.  Questions like “What would you name your child?”  “Do you like your own name?”  “What is the strangest name you have heard in real life?” And so on.

However, I have just read the two articles above about Kira Kira names become WIDESPREAD across Japan and nearly HALF of Japanese go to school with a sparkly person of kira kira appellation

Maybe them Tokyoites have kira kira names, but up North here I see regular names among students.  Names like Shun, Ryuichi, Makoto, Kenji for boys.  Names like Shiori, Hana, Misako, Mami for girls.  I think those are all ordinary names in Japan.  I don’t really see strange names.

Although….once long ago I did teach a pair of sisters named Nana and Nono.  I thought that was strange.  My encounter with Pika pika!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSWl-_-IAcE Banned baby names.  My son enjoyed this.