So continuing on with the 3/11 commemoration.  Late in the afternoon–around five-ish, I guess–I headed back to the town square.  Since it is so incredibly close to our home, it was no big deal.  My son was home, but he did not want to go.  He’s been in school all day, so I can understand his reluctance.  He just wants to veg after a long day.

The weather reminded those of us here in Tohoku of That Day.  That Day was sunny bright blue all day.  Then about an hour after the earthquake, it began to snow.  Very eery and still.

 

 

DSCF4019

So anyway, at the Machi Hiroba Town Square here in Fukushima City, they had candles in memory.  The whole atmosphere was sudbued, but also a bit of a party atmosphere.  Kind of fun to see other people and be together.

DSCF4020

This tree has the hopes and dreams of kids written on it. “I want to be a video game programmer when I grow up.”  sort of stuff.

 

DSCF4021

I met this man Tom Gill.  He said that he has been doing research on the effects of the radiation.  He seemed very optimistic.  Whew.  What a relief.  I’m always hearing that the radiation is not as bad as the hype makes it seems.

DSCF4023

This says FUKUSHIMA in Japanese.  Oh, how I wish I had me a little helicopter which I could zoom up and take a photo.  Like George Jetson.

DSCF4024

This photo was an accident, but it looks kind of artsy, doesn’t it.

DSCF4028

The stage with lit candles.  We were allowed to paint the candle holders.  They asked me if I wanted to do so, but I declined.  To tell the truth, I was pretty busy all day long with various things and did not have time.

DSCF4029

Like I said, sort of a party atmosphere.  In a subdued, thoughtful sort of way.

DSCF4030

I’m too lazy to read this sign.   It’s been there forever.  Looks to me like ‡Ωß∂⊂®«.   I know.  I’m a bad immigrant.

DSCF4031

I thought this was pretty!

DSCF4032

Obviously!

DSCF4033

Close up of some of the candle holders.  Lovely artwork!  I’m finding myself wondering what was done with them after the event.

DSCF4034

Bye!  My son was waiting at home, so I didn’t dawdle.  It would have been nice if he had come, but this isn’t his thing exactly.  And plus, like pretty much everybody in Fukushima, he is SICK of the WHOLE EARTHQUAKE THING.

Hate you.  Hate your upheaval.  Hate your whole stinking catastrophe.

DSCF4035

When I got home, I watched a bit of the coverage on regular TV.

DSCF4038

Hey, look, it’s Fukushima!   We’re famous!