Since coming to Japan, I have often wondered, “What is the difference between a parfait and a sundae?”  This is because what are called “parfait” (パフエor パルフエ according to my dictionary) are often eaten in Japan.   I know it is an English word, too, but I don’t really use the word “parfait” in America.   So I was wondering:  What is the difference between a parfait and a sundae?  According to Dictionary.com–

Parfait:  1. a dessert of ice cream and fruit or ice cream and syrup in alternate layers, often topped with whipped cream and served in a tall, narrow, short-stemmed glass.

2. any frozen dessert in which fruit, nuts, etc., have been folded into whipped cream or egg custard.
==============================
Sundae:  1. ice cream served with syrup poured over it, and often other toppings, as whipped cream, chopped nuts, or fruit.
My son says a parfait is a really big sundae.

DSCF3838

This was my husband’s parfait at a restaurant aptly named Berry in Ikebukuro.

DSCF3840

My mango and strawberry tart.  I got it because I figured it had a lower calorie content than a parfait.  Did you hear I’m on a DIEDT?

 

DSCF3842

My son’s rose mango parfait.  Japanese people often put cornflakes in their parfaits.  Well, this parfait had crunchy pie crust flakes at the bottom.  I tasted a bit and it was REALLY yummy!