DSCF3802

LOL LOL I was browsing around a bookstore and I saw this book.  Its title translates to something like:  “How a  Housewife Got her Son to Pass the Eiken Level One by Sixth Grade”  (Although the title ends with the word hanashi 話 which means “story” so is it possible this book is fiction rather than non-fiction?  I am not sure.)

Okay, so it’s how to get your child to pass the highest eiken level at a ridiculously young age.  Of course, I had to open the book and read the magic.

Here’s a schedule of the child’s day:

DSCF3803

morning–breakfast, English TV

In the afterrnoon various activites, like um, a web lesson.

My Japanese wasn’t good enough or I wasn’t patient enough to read much of the book, but it’s pretty obvious that the way to get your kid to pass Eiken is to work at it.  Not give up.  Rah Rah Rah

A child passing Level One?  Would have to have a pretty intensive English schedule, IMO, and a pretty gung-ho kid.  I have a feeling it is extremely, extremely uncommon.

 


 

This is a really great POV about the Eiken from another American mom, Adventures of a Chiba Mom.  She has an amazing blog and I always learn a lot from it.  We did the eiken differently–her son started with Level 2 (a difficult level), while I started my son with Level Five.  (Which I previously blogged about.)  Mostly, I started him with Five because I was stupid and didn’t know how incredibly easy that level is.  However, I don’t regret it.  We are just working our way through the Eiken, one level at a time.  However, it would have been cheaper and less time consuming to start at a higher level.

My son took the speaking part of the Level Three test last Sunday.  Even though he is a native speaker, I went over the tests in this book.  The reason for this is so that he is prepared to answer “Do you like swimming?” with “Yes, I do.”  rather than, “Yeah, I guess so.”  And so that he will say “Pardon me?”  rather than “Huh?”  😉  There is definitely a method to this test that a kid needs to know.


 

DSCF3823

On the right:  Regular karu snackies  (カール)

On the left:  UKARU snackies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!    (ウカール)

The verb “ukaru” means “to pass a test”.  So you–and by you meaning I–can buy ukaru snackies to guarantee with one munchy bite that all the knowledge in the child’s brain will exit down through their mouths or their mechanical pencils resulting in correct answers and 100%  scores!  And that, my dear readers, is how you pass the test!