DSCF3701

We went to the very nearby town of Iizaka Onsen, not surprisingly famous for its “Onsen”  (Hot baths.)  This is the train station at Fukushima City.  so we walked here and took the train (about twenty-five minutes) to Iizaka Onsen.  Just a really nice little place.

 

DSCF3703

Strolling the streets.  Japanese Showa kitsch.  Love it.

DSCF3704

Neko Alert!  Neko Alert!  Neko Alert!  Can not pass a pretty kitty without taking a photo, no matter how crappy the photo may end up being once I’ve loaded it onto my computer.

DSCF3706

Iizaka is famous for its onsen.  My friend grew up here and told me that when she was growing up, they did not have a bath or shower in their home.  Instead, they traipsed to the onsen and took their baths there.  I can see that being fun….until puberty.

My son, being male, could not enter onsen with me, so we opted for the (free of charge!) foot onsen.

DSCF3708

Okay, my toesies need more colorful nail polish.  Light pink just ain’t doing it.

DSCF3709

 

 

 

 

 

Stop it!  You’re ruining my zen!

 

DSCF3710

The view from my foot onsen to the front….

DSCF3711

 

 

 

 

 

 

and to the right.

DSCF3717

“This would be just perfect if I had my video games!”  No, he did not say it.   But he was probably thinking it.

DSCF3719

Can you read it?  Foot Hot Water-Hand Hot Water  (translated as Foot Bath/Hand Bath)

DSCF3720

Strolling back to the station.

DSCF3721

Too lazy to put this photo right side up.  Iizaka is famous for its eggs which have been boiled in their natural hot springs.

DSCF3722

And the eggs….which I did not buy.  They make better omiyage in theory than in practice.

DSCF3723

I bought “Bikkuri Agemanju”  “Surprise Agemanju”  The surprise is that they taste exactly like Japanese paradise.

 

DSCF3724

“Welcome to Fukushima!  Full of Good Fortune  Fukushima”

福=good fortune/luck “fuku”

満開=full of “mankai”

And I’ll translate it as:

“Y’all come down and see us some time! Ya hear!”

Seriously, let me know if you visit and I’ll meet you at Fukushima Station.  Assuming you’re not a murderer.

 

 

DSCF3725

Map of Iizuka